Glitter and Gratitude

Standard

Zahra_Holidays_3I’ve been staring at my dog, Indigo (“GoGo”), for the last 10 minutes. She’s sleeping on the couch by the Christmas tree and there’s a tiny sprinkle of gold glitter stuck to her sweet, jet black, Labrador face.

It’s not unusual for glitter, sequins, and various other kinds of bling to be stuck to my dog, my husband, or anywhere else in my house. It’s normal, I hardly notice anymore, but tonight as I look at GoGo’s peaceful face, shimmering in the glow of the twinkle lights, I couldn’t help but feel so grateful. Grateful for all the obvious blessings in my life, my husband, wonderful family, good health, a roof over my head, and all the things we take for granted in our everyday, busy lives. I am grateful for all my students past and present, teachers, mentors, dancer friends, and my workshop sponsors over the years. I am so grateful for a life of glitter.

Maybe that sounds funny, dance is a lot more than putting on a costume and applying glitter. It’s years of hard work and dedication. I guess that goes without saying…or does it? Oriental dance is not a fantasy world of playing dress up, it is a cultural art, the dance of a people. It is a beautiful dance form that can be enjoyed by anyone of any ethnicity, whether for exercise or just for fun. Middle Eastern music is rich and deliciously intoxicating, truly transformational. No wonder so many women and men from all walks of life, from all over the world are drawn to it!

These days with such mass global appeal, and so many uneducated teachers, desperate attention seekers, and the need for instant self gratification, it’s easy to get swept away by the masses, and lose sight of the true art. If you want to learn an art form from another culture other than your own, respect the art and the culture it comes from! There’s nothing wrong with having fun, we all love fun, just don’t let the glitter blind you.

I am grateful I have had the strength to stay true to my art. Through blood, sweat and tears, I’ve forged ahead. It can be a lonely road sometimes, but I don’t mind. This Holiday Season as I venture into the New Year, as always, I will will vow to stay true to oriental dance. I will wear my glitter like a badge of honor, because I earned it.

Stay strong my friends. What are you standing up for in 2015?

One response »

  1. What a lovely post. My husband thinks I sprinkle glitter on him at night. I in fact, today a peer and I had a great conversation about exposing more of our local markets to Middle Eastern music and dance. At the same time I plan to stand up for hard work, authenticity, love and respect. When all of those come to a stage there is no audience you cannot reach. Thanks for everything you do. Have a wonderful Holiday season.

Leave a Reply

